What makes me better than you?

What makes me better than you?
“For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more. “Hebrews 8:12

What makes me better than you?
Is it because I’d rather listen to gospel than any other genre of music?
Or because I avoid going to the movies and tempting parties?
Is it because I go to church every 7th day of the week?
Or because I sing in the choir and with the praise team?
Hmm what makes me better than you?
Does the way that I dress say that I don’t need to wear less in order to impress?
Because I quote from the bible and engulf most of my conversation around the life of Christ?
What makes me better than you?
Does it look like I’ve never made a mistake or even gone astray?
Never used profanity or gotten angry?
What makes me better than you?
It is because I choose to be surrounded with friends and people who
will build me up instead of bring me down?
Because I’ve never smoked, over-drank, and choose not to give my virginity away?
And I’ll ask you again, what makes me better than you?
…My friend…NOTHING makes me better than you because God looks at us the same.
He looks at us as sinners who acknowledge they need a spiritual change to take place in their lives.
God has given us the most precious gift there could ever be!
His love, His grace, and His Son who grants us life eternally!
I found out that in Jesus, all things are made new, and that He loves me even when I don’t seem or do things that are so lovable.
He doesn’t judge me for what I’ve done in my past, but He encourages me not to repeat those things and to move forward in His grace.
He has given us a gift and I have accepted it by choosing to serve Him with my life.
Like David, I’ve asked God to help me with my walk in Him by saying, “Teach me, O Lord, the way of they statues; and I shall keep it unto the end” (Psalm 119:33).
and from Job I’ve learned, “If justify myself, mine own mouth shall condemn me: If I say I am perfect, it shall also prove me perverse” (Job 9:20).
So if you notice something different about me its not because I’ve done anything, but Jesus continues to make daily alternations in order to mold and shape my character into His own.
So just because I’m striving to be more like Him by trying no to do that which displeases Him, it doesn’t make me better than anyone, especially not you; because he looks at us the same, as sinners who acknowledge they need a spiritual change.
So nothing makes me better than anyone, especially not you.
Because what He’s doing for me, if you only let Him, He can do it for you too.

~Rebecca Cenatus~ Just a nobody telling somebody about Him!

Source: http://www.hebronfrenchsda.wordpress.com

2 responses to “What makes me better than you?

  1. Pulchritudized*

    Hallelujah for this blog! I encourage you to write more Rebecca, this was beautiful. and if you do write.. we would love to see more!

    love,
    Rachel -pulchritudized

    • Hi Rachel,

      Thanks for reading! Thank you for your encouraging words! Be sure to follow our blog, because we do plan to feature our entire Hebron Highlights Team on a weekly basis! God bless!