Strength in Unity

The beautiful red and blue colors flew high as we celebrated Haitian Flag Day on May 18, 2010. In the midst of celebration, we paused to reflect on our past, present, and future.

Haiti has always had such a long and vivid history. Our rich culture, melodious music, beautiful countryside, and delicious food has made a lasting impression on many nations.

We struggled against the French to become the first black republic to gain its  independence. We struggled to establish order in our government. We struggled to find work, feed our families, and educate our children. We struggled against our international reputation as “the poorest nation in the Western Hemisphere.” We struggled against the stereotypes placed upon those who immigrated to the United States to better themselves and the lives of their family. We struggled against the derogatory names and insults. We struggled against the disease we supposedly helped spread in the States.

We faced challenge after challenge, overcame one obstacle after another, and disputed allegation after allegation. We fought against poverty, hunger, and now natural disasters.

In 2008, we were struck by four consecutive hurricanes–Fay, Gustav, Hanna, and Ike. These hurricanes flooded Gonaives, washed away our crops, and killed hundreds of people and livestock.

Then on January 12, 2010, our lives were changed forever as a 7.0 magnitude earthquake rocked our nation.  Our cries pierced the once quiet, blue skies as we mourned the loss of over 200,000 men, women, and children. Our beloved landmarks were fractured or completely destroyed as if a reflection of our broken hearts.  We stood death straight in the eye. Many perished but many more persevered.

Today, with the help of our international friends, we are rebuilding our land. The Haitian people are UNITED now more than ever. Haitian or not, this is a team effort. The words etched on our flag remind us of what we can accomplish when we work together. “L’union fait la force” is not just our motto, it is our way of life.

We stand in solidarity, pledging our lifelong commitment to the rebuilding of Haiti. Our beloved country will rise once again. This is the time where we must set aside our differences and work collaboratively to preserve the land of our ancestors.  Their unity led to one of the largest slave rebellions ever recorded in history.  They had one vision in mind, FREEDOM! Together, they attained it. Do not let their courage and bloodshed be in vain. Haiti must rise again.

Remember the words of our national anthem, “La Dessalinienne.” For our country, for our forefathers, united let us march…for our forbears, for our country, let us toil joyfully. May the fields be fertile and our souls take courage. For our country and our forefathers, let us train our sons. Free, strong, prosperous, we shall always be as brothers.

Let us unite with one vision in mind, to lift Haiti to new heights. We owe it to our children, our parents, grandparents, and the many generations who came before them.

God has blessed us tremendously. He has a greater purpose for our nation, our people. We are faithful and resilient.

Despite our adversities, the Haitian people will continue to press forward.

Author: Kristia M. Beaubrun

http://www.kristiabeaubrun.wordpress.com

Source: http://www.hebronfrenchsda.wordpress.com

26 responses to “Strength in Unity

  1. This domain appears to receive a good amount of visitors. How do you advertise it? It offers a nice unique twist on things. I guess having something useful or substantial to say is the most important factor.

  2. Someone essentially help to make seriously articles I’d state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I amazed with the analysis you made to make this particular submit extraordinary. Wonderful activity!

  3. I’m often to blogging and i actually appreciate your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your website and preserve checking for brand new information.

  4. Thanks so much for this! I haven’t been this thrilled by a blog post for a long time! You’ve got it, whatever that means in blogging. Well, You are definitely somebody that has something to say that people should hear. Keep up the good job. Keep on inspiring the people!

  5. Wonderful items from you, man. I’ve have in mind your stuff previous to and you’re just too fantastic. I actually like what you have received right here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in which you are saying it. You’re making it enjoyable and you still care for to stay it smart. I cant wait to learn far more from you. That is really a great web site.

  6. You have observed very interesting details ! ps decent website .

  7. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

  8. great information shared I’m really gratified to see this particular articles..appreciate for providing folks wonderful tips.Great walk-through. I truly appreciate this articles.

  9. Very interesting details you have remarked, regards for putting up.

  10. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you.

  11. I am really glad I have found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is really annoying. A good site with interesting content, this is what I need. Thank you for keeping this site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it

  12. Dead composed content , Really enjoyed reading .

  13. Thanks so much for this! I haven’t been this thrilled by a blog post for a long time! You’ve got it, whatever that means in blogging. Well, You are definitely somebody that has something to say that people should hear. Keep up the good job. Keep on inspiring the people!

  14. Yay google is my king aided me to find this outstanding internet site ! .

  15. I have to get across my admiration for your kind-heartedness supporting folks that have the need for guidance on this important study. Your very own commitment to passing the solution around had become wonderfully invaluable and have surely enabled individuals much like me to arrive at their goals. The invaluable instruction implies this much to me and a whole lot more to my fellow workers. With thanks; from everyone of us.

  16. Very clear site, thanks for this post.

  17. wonderful issues altogether, you just won emblem reader. What could you suggest in regards to your publish that you just made a few days in the past? Any sure?

  18. Amazing issues here. I am very glad to look your article. Thank you so much and i am having a look ahead to contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  19. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I¡¦ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I am quite sure I¡¦ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  20. I was just looking for this information for a while. After 6 hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your website. I wonder what is the lack of Google strategy that do not rank this kind of informative sites in top of the list. Usually the top websites are full of garbage.

  21. Appreciate it for helping out, fantastic information.

  22. Deference to post author, some superb entropy.

  23. What¡¦s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It positively useful and it has aided me out loads. I am hoping to contribute & aid other customers like its aided me. Great job.

  24. It’s arduous to seek out educated individuals on this subject, however you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  25. hey there and thank you for your information I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again soon..

  26. You’re so cool! I don’t suppose I’ve learn anything like this before. So good to find someone with some unique thoughts on this subject. really thanks for beginning this up. this website is one thing that’s needed on the net, somebody with somewhat originality. useful job for bringing one thing new to the web!